• 16 teams compete for the 4 qualifying places
  • The tournament takes place in Nazaré
  • Portugal start qualifying as defending champion

The race for four qualifying tickets for the 2021 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Russia has started for European nations in Nazaré, Portugal, where the UEFA qualifying tournament takes place from June 17-27. The top five teams from the preliminary round, which runs from June 17 to 19 alongside the Euro Beach Soccer League (EBSL), will advance to the main round, which starts on June 21 and features 16 teams. The top two ranked from each group will advance to the quarter-finals, and the winners of these will accompany host Russia to the 2021 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup.

The groups

Group A: Portugal, Turkey, Ukraine, team preliminary round

Group B: Italy, Germany, team preliminary round, team preliminary round

Group C: Spain, Belarus, Poland, team preliminary round

Group D: Switzerland, France, Azerbaijan, team preliminary round

The tournament in brief

Or : Nazareth (Portugal)

When: June 17-27

  • June 17-19: Preliminary round
  • June 21-23: Group stage
  • June 24: Dams for places 9 to 16
  • June 25: Quarter-finals & play-offs for places 9 to 16
  • June 26: Semi-finals & play-offs for places 5 to 8
  • June 27: Final & matches for places 7/8, 5/6 and 3/4

The challenge : Four tickets to Russia 2021

The Portugal, crowned twice world champion in four years (2015 and 2019), is one of the big favorites of the tournament. The team have also won the last two editions of the Euro Beach Soccer League. In group B, theItaly is the clear favorite. In the last edition of the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, the Italian side made their way to the final, only losing to Portugal. The Transalpins had already reached the semi-finals of the two previous editions.

The Suisse is another team to watch. The Swiss have already played in the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup five times. “We are clearly aiming for first place in the group. The opponent will be of a different caliber in the quarter-finals, but it is not yet known which other group he will come out of. Our experienced players will be there. Noel Ott is recovered from his injury and we can therefore count on all our offensive assets, “said national coach Angelo Schirinzi on the website of the Swiss Federation. In an interview with FIFA.com, he mentioned the European qualifications: “With Switzerland, anything is always possible. I think that Portugal, Spain and Italy will be part of the trip to Russia.”

Five-time winner of the EBSL, theSpain is eager to regain its former glory on the European stage. The Spaniards reached the final in 2014 and 2018, but the final victory has eluded them since 2006. We will certainly have to keep an eye on them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *