The first act for the 2021 FIFA Arab Cup ™ will take place on Tuesday, April 27 at 9:00 p.m. (local time) at the Doha Opera House.

In total, 23 teams will participate in the competition: Algeria, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Mauritania, Oman, Palestine, Qatar (host), Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, Tunisia and Yemen.

The 14 lowest-ranked teams in the April edition of the FIFA / Coca-Cola World Ranking will play seven knockout matches. The breakdown is as follows:

  • Oman – Somalia
  • Lebanon – Djibouti
  • Jordan – South Sudan
  • Bahrain – Kuwait
  • Mauritania – Yemen
  • Palestine – Comoros
  • Libya – Sudan

The seven winners will join the nine top-ranked teams, including the host nation, in the final competition. The final competition draw procedure is available here.

The final competition will take place in the form of a group stage followed by a knockout stage. The group stage will see the 16 participating teams split into four groups of four. The first and second in each group will advance to the knockout stage, which will include quarter-finals, semi-finals, the third-place match and the final.

Wael Gomaa (Egypt), Nawaf Al Temyat (Saudi Arabia), Haytham Mustafa (Sudan) and Younus Mahmood (Iraq) and are the four FIFA Legends who will assist Manolo Zubiria, director of the FIFA Competitions sub-division, during the raffle ceremony.

More information on the broadcast of the ceremony will be communicated on April 27.

Seen as the perfect opportunity to test operations and facilities ahead of Qatar 2022, the Arab Cup will take place around the same time of year as the FIFA World Cup. The finals of the two competitions will take place exactly one year apart – on December 18, Qatar’s National Day.

The raffle ceremony will take place in the presence of a limited number of officials, in accordance with Qatari protocols in the fight against Covid-19.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *