• The preliminary draw will take place in Zurich on December 7
  • Belgium will be the highest seed in hat 1
  • 13 of the 55 UEFA member associations will qualify for the 2022 FIFA World Cup

Ahead of the UEFA preliminary draw for the 2022 FIFA World Cup ™, which will take place in Zurich on December 7 (6:00 p.m.) as a virtual event, Belgium has been confirmed. as the highest seed in hat 1 following the release of the FIFA / Coca-Cola World Ranking.

Ten other teams will support the Red Devils in the hat 1 : France, England, Portugal, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Denmark, Germany and the Netherlands.

Again on the basis of this ranking, the 45 other UEFA member associations will be divided into the different hats as follows:

Hat 2 : Switzerland, Wales, Poland, Sweden, Austria, Ukraine, Serbia, Turkey, Slovakia and Romania

Hat 3 : Russia, Hungary, Republic of Ireland, Czech Republic, Norway, Northern Ireland, Iceland, Scotland, Greece and Finland

Hat 4 : Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Bulgaria, Israel, Belarus, Georgia and Luxembourg

Hat 5 : Armenia, Cyprus, Faroe Islands, Azerbaijan, Estonia, Kosovo, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Latvia and Andorra

Hat 6 : Malta, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar and San Marino

The teams drawn will be placed in the groups in alphabetical order, from group A to group J (i.e. the first team drawn will be placed in group A, the second in group B and so right now). When a constraint applies or is likely to apply, the team drawn will be placed in the first available group in alphabetical order, as indicated in the rules of the draw relating to constraints.

As hat n ° 6 has only five teams, they will be placed in sixth position in groups F to J.

All the teams of the same group will face each other in two-way matches between March and November 2021. The ten group winners will directly qualify for Qatar 2022, while the ten runners-up will play barrages.

They will be joined by the two best-ranked group winners of the 2020-2021 UEFA Nations League who will not have qualified directly for the 2022 FIFA World Cup ™, nor for the play-offs as second in the group. These 12 teams will be transferred to three qualifying rounds, made up of single knockout matches scheduled for March 2022. These will determine the last three European nations that will travel to Qatar.

All information relating to the draw procedure, including those concerning the applicable constraints, is available here.

The draw will be broadcast live on FIFA.com and through FIFA’s broadcast partners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *