• The first FIFA Club World Cup was held in 2000
  • The 16 editions contested to date have crowned ten different winners
  • The 2020 Club World Cup will take place between February 1 and 11

The 2020 FIFA Club World Cup kicks off in just under three weeks in Qatar. Six of the seven participants are known. Find the full competition calendar here. The draw is scheduled for January 19, 2021 at 4 p.m. (MEZ) in Zurich. Who will succeed Liverpool on the record of the Club World Cup?

Sacred 2019 World Club Champion 13 months ago, following his victory over Flamengo, Liverpool will not be present to defend their title in the Middle East. UEFA Champions League winners Bayern Munich will try to put their name on the record for the second time, after a first triumph in 2013.

Since the creation of this tournament in 2000, European clubs have won 12 times, against four victories for the South American representatives. Which confederation will win the final edition of the tournament in its current form?

The best against the best

The first battle for the title of club world champion took place in 2000. The FIFA Club World Cup in Brazil will go down as the first major international club football competition of the new millennium. Eight teams from the four corners of the world meet in Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo to do battle in a country where football is king.

Real Madrid, who already held the record for European Cup victories at the time, and Manchester United, crowned with success in the UEFA Champions League, are on the trip to Brazil. Authors of a historic treble in 1999/2000, the Red Devils even create controversy by giving up competing in the FA Cup to face the best teams on the planet.

The first world champion

The first final opposes two Brazilian teams: Vasco da Gama and Corinthians de São Paulo. After 120 minutes of a sterile tactical duel, the second win on penalties (4-3). The team led by Vampeta, Freddy Rincon, Edu, Dida and Edilson won the world title in front of 73,000 spectators. To get there, Corinthians pulled a draw from Real, before winning ahead of Saudis Al Nassr and Moroccans Raja de Casablanca.

Corinthians players celebrate their win with the champions board after the FIFA Club World Cup Final
© Getty Images

History on the move

The competition is then relaxed for four years, until Japan 2005. As in 2000, the final victory goes to a resident of the Brazilian championship, in this case FC São Paulo. Twelve months later, the triumph of the Internacional Porto Alegre confirms the Brazilian domination. But, since then, only Corinthians (in 2012) managed to break the domination of European teams.

Real Madrid (4 titles), FC Barcelona (3) and Corinthians (2) are the most successful teams to date. Seven other teams have entered their name on the record of the event only once, including Bayern Munich, in contention this year. The top scorer in the history of the Club World Cup is Cristiano Ronaldo.

The competition winners

Balance sheet by confederation

Confederation Champion Vice-champion 3ème place 4ème place
UEFA 12 3 1
AFC 2 5 8
CAF 2 1 2

Relive the 2019 final

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *