• Tigers win 2020 Concacaf Champions League
  • Monterrey club qualified for FIFA Club World Cup
  • André-Pierre Gignac scored the winning goal

The fourth time has been a good one for the Tigers. A time led by Los Angeles FC in the final of the 2020 Concacaf Champions League in Orlando (Florida), the Mexicans found the necessary resources to win (2-1). The Monterrey club remained on three lost continental finals, but the indestructible André-Pierre Gignac put an end to this sad series by delivering a remarkable performance.

Scorer of the winning goal in the 84th minute, the Frenchman also offered his team a qualification for the FIFA Club World Cup Qatar 2020 ™, which will take place next February.

From the kick-off, the two finalists multiply rough interventions and mistakes, thus preventing the game from developing. Diego Rossi, the best MLS player of 2020, gives himself the clearest opportunity in the first half, but his strike entering the penalty area goes way over Nahuel Guzman’s goal.

Upon returning from the locker room, the Californians opt for a much higher pressing, which undermines the Tigers’ defense. It is therefore quite logical that Bob Bradley’s men opened the scoring in the 61st minute. Following a nice exchange of passes with Carlos Vela, Mark-Anthony Kaye finds Rossi at the far post. The Uruguayan is the quickest to react: he stings his ball over Guzman and gives the advantage to LAFC.

Stung, the Tigers react ten minutes later and equalize from a corner. Defender Hugo Ayala gets rid of his bodyguard at the near post to regain the ball with a header. At the far post, Kaye fails to clear, despite a desperate attempt.

Six minutes from time, the Mexicans finally snatch the victory. The right side Luis Rodriguez connects the dribbles before serving Gignac. The former Marseillais does the rest and places a strike that leaves no chance for Kenneth Vermeer, the LAFC goalkeeper.

The Tigers will therefore represent Concacaf at the FIFA Club World Cup Qatar 2020 ™, which will take place in February 2020. They will meet Al Ahly (winner of the CAF Champions League), Bayern Munich ( UEFA Champions League winner), Ulsan (AFC Champions League winner), Auckland City (OFC), Copa Libertadores winner (whose final is scheduled for January) and Al Duhail , representative of the host country.


“It’s worth going to a Club World Cup, it’s worth playing against the best teams from every continent and today it’s the Tigers’ turn.” – André-Pierre Gignac French striker of the Tigers


Best goalie: Nahuel Guzman (Tigres)

Soulier d’Or : André-Pierre Gignac (Tigres) – 6 goals

Best Young Player: Diego Palacios (LAFC)

Best player : André-Pierre Gignac (Tigres)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *