Concacaf Champions League

Los Angeles FC enter the field
© Getty Images

  • Tigres and Los Angeles FC in CONCACAF Champions League final
  • The winner will represent their region at the FIFA Club World Cup
  • LAFC hopes to be first MLS club to win competition

As the end of the year approaches, suspense remains over the casting for the FIFA Club World Cup ™. The 2020 CONCACAF Champions League will deliver its verdict at the end of the final between Tigres and Los Angeles FC. Whoever wins, he will make history when he holds up the continental trophy in Orlando on Wednesday. presents a confrontation that is sure to spice up.


CONCACAF Champions League Final: Tigers – LAFC
December 22, Exploria Stadium, Orlando, Florida (10:00 p.m. local time – December 23 04:00 CET)

The meeting promises to be thrilling, if only because a victory will represent a huge step forward for one of the two clubs, who face each other for the first time. It takes shape from a duel of attackers between André-Pierre Gignac (Tigres) and Carlos Vela (LAFC), both carriers of the number 10. Born leaders, extremely skilled and capable of sumptuous goals, they are known for their ability to make a difference in the last minutes.

Their prolificity speaks for itself: tied at the top of the scorers ranking of the competition with five units and each author of a double in the semi-finals, they are also the best directors in the history of their club. Gignac could have an advantage in that he has already found the cage twice in the Champions League final. It will be interesting to see which of the two can make their case better on Tuesday.

Andre-Pierre Gignac of Tigres UANL celebrates a goal
© Getty Images

The course

Tigres has the best offensive record in the competition (13). He won 5-4 (cum.) Over Alianza in the round of 16, 5-0 (cum.) Over New York City FC in the quarters and 3-0 over Olimpia in the last four.

LAFC, which was playing its first continental tournament, had to have three teams from the Mexican league to reach the final. He defeated Club León 3-2 (cumul.) In the eighth, Cruz Azul 2-1 in the quarterfinals and América 3-1 in the semi-finals.

At the state

3 – Los Angeles FC are the first MLS club in CONCACAF Champions League history to beat three Mexican teams on their way to the final. It is all the more impressive given that Bob Bradley’s men have taken all three of their victories after falling behind.

Did you know ?

Tigers are heading into their fourth Champions League final. His previous three attempts have been thwarted by Mexican clubs: América (2016), Pachuca (2017) and Monterrey (2019).

Carlos Vela #10 of Los Angeles FC celebrates with his team-mates after scoring a goal
© Getty Images

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *