Tokyo 2020 – Prize Draw


  • 16 men’s and 12 women’s teams divided into 7 groups
  • Japan will start against South Africa (men’s tournament) and against Canada (women’s tournament)
  • On the menu in particular, Brazil – Germany for the men, and the United States – Sweden for the women

The 28 teams qualified for the Olympic football tournaments discovered the composition of the groups after the draw which took place at FIFA Headquarters on April 21, 2021 in Zurich.

Japan, host of the competition, were seeded in Group A (men’s tournament) and Group E (women’s tournament). The Japanese women’s team will face Canada for their first match on Wednesday, July 21 at 7:30 p.m. local time at the Sapporo Dome. His male counterpart will be opposed to South Africa the next day at 8:00 p.m. at Tokyo Stadium.

The final of the women’s tournament will take place at the brand new Olympic Stadium in Tokyo, which will serve as the venue for the opening and closing ceremonies of the Olympic Games. Sapporo, Miyagi, Kashima, Saitama and Yokohama (where the men’s final will take place) will also contribute to Olympic passion by hosting exciting matches until August 7, 2021.

We note in particular the presence of France with the host country in the men’s table, while the Ivory Coast will rub shoulders with Brazil and Germany, respectively winner and finalist of the last edition. In the women’s tournament, Canada will cross swords with the host nation and Great Britain, while the reigning US world champions will face stiff opposition with Sweden, Australia and New Zealand.

Draw results

Men’s Olympic Football Tournament

Group A: Japan, South Africa, Mexico, France

Group B: New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Honduras, Romania

Group C: Egypt, Spain, Argentina, Australia

Group D: Brazil, Germany, Ivory Coast, Saudi Arabia

Women’s Olympic Football Tournament

Group E: Japan, Canada, Great Britain, Chile

Group F: China PR, Brazil, Zambia, Netherlands

Group G: Sweden, United States, Australia, New Zealand

The draws were made by Jaime Yarza, FIFA Tournament Director, and Sarai Bareman, FIFA Women’s Football Manager. They were assisted by two FIFA Legends: Lindsay Tarpley, member of the United States women’s national team and two-time Olympic gold medalist (Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008), and Ryan Nelsen, captain of the New Olympic team. -Zeeland in 2008 and London 2012.

The men’s and women’s Olympic football tournaments will be played in group stages, followed by the quarter-finals, semi-finals, and bronze and gold medal matches.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *