The Bureau of the FIFA Council today took a number of decisions regarding upcoming FIFA competitions.

In view of the resounding success of the 2019 edition, it was decided last year to expand the format of the FIFA Women’s World Cup ™ from 24 to 32 teams in order to continue to encourage the development of women’s football. . FIFA has since worked closely with the confederations on the distribution of places for the 2023 edition, which the Bureau of the Council confirmed today:

Distribution of direct seats (29 out of 32)

  • 6 direct places for the AFC;
  • 4 direct seats for CAF;
  • 4 direct seats for CONCACAF;
  • 3 direct places for CONMEBOL;
  • 1 direct place for OFC; and
  • 11 direct seats for UEFA.

As host countries, Australia and New Zealand are automatically qualified and their place is directly deducted from the quota allocated to their respective confederation, namely the AFC and OFC.

Distribution of places for the play-off tournament (3)

The three remaining places will be determined at the end of a ten-team play-off tournament, with the following distribution of places:

  • 2 barrage places for the AFC;
  • 2 barrage places for CAF;
  • 2 play-offs for CONCACAF;
  • 2 barrage positions for CONMEBOL;
  • 1 place of barrage for OFC; and
  • 1 play-off place for UEFA.

Playoff tournament format

Four teams will be seeded on the basis of the latest FIFA / Coca-Cola Women’s World Ranking published before the tournament draw, with a maximum of one seeded team per confederation.

  • In group 1, which will consist of three teams, the No. 1 seed will face for a place in the Women’s World Cup the winner of the knockout match between the two non-seeded teams in the group.
  • In Group 2, which will also include three teams, the No. 2 seed will face for a place in the Women’s World Cup the winner of the knockout match between the two non-seeded teams of the group.
  • In Group 3, which will consist of four teams, the No. 3 and No. 4 seeds will face the two non-seeds in the group, with the two winners then facing each other for the last remaining place.

Teams from the same confederation cannot be placed in the same group.

The play-off will serve as a test event for Australia and New Zealand ahead of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup ™ and both host countries will be invited to participate in friendly matches against the teams from the groups. 1 and 2, ensuring that all teams present play two matches during the play-off tournament.

FIFA U-20 World Cup ™ and FIFA U-17 World Cup ™

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the Council Bureau has decided to cancel the 2021 editions of the FIFA U-20 World Cup ™ and the FIFA U-17 World Cup ™, as well as to designate Indonesia and Peru – which were to organize these competitions in 2021 – hosts of the 2023 editions.

The Covid-19 pandemic continues to complicate the organization of international sporting events and result in restrictions on international travel. In light of these circumstances, FIFA regularly consulted relevant stakeholders, including the organizing member associations as well as the confederations involved in the two competitions scheduled for 2021. It was clear that the global health situation had not improved. sufficient to meet the challenges associated with the two competitions, in particular as regards the good performance of the various qualification courses.

FIFA wishes to express its gratitude to the host associations as well as to the Indonesian and Peruvian authorities for their unwavering commitment and the preparatory work already carried out. FIFA will continue to work closely with the host countries to make these competitions a success.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *